top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoy A. Kennelly

Time flies when you're having fun

Updated: Nov 4, 2019

This has been a fun year of learning, growing and achieving certain professional goals which is why I'm excited to see how it will close. Since I last wrote, I have been involved in a tech companies security video that will be seen at tech conferences and client meetings world-wide. It was very cool to work with a green screen and be considered someone's mom.

I love tech and miss being around cutting edge technology which is why this experience was such fun.

Joy Kennelly at the Hollywood Silver Screen Festival
Joy Kennelly at the Hollywood Silver Screen Festival

I also attended the Hollywood Silver Screen Film Festival down in San Pedro, CA and really enjoyed it. I was able to watch some amazing short films and popped onto the red carpet to pose with Oscar.

Casting Director Panel

I especially enjoyed hearing the Casting

Director Panel, "How to book consistent acting roles on network shows, featured films and national commercials" which featured:

Casting Director Megan Foley Marra

Casting Director Leslie Brown

Casting Director Chuck Marra

Casting Director Renee Garcia

Moderated by Dr. Petra Deeter


This panel was extremely insightful and interesting to listen to. I took notes on my Instagram posts here if you care to learn what they had to say also.


I also enjoyed hearing Writer/Director Peter Sullivan discuss how he became a content creator for major networks, including Netflix, Lifetime, Hallmark Channel, Universal, Sony, ION, Lionsgate as he was interviewed by Angela Marie Hutchinson.


What a fascinating life!


I recently had surgery and was happy to have 8 days of work lined up towards the end of my recovery for a famous media franchise that is world-renowned and features many favorite stars. What a privilege!


I created the character, drunk girl #1, to have more fun on set and my acting drunk became so popular that the props guy began giving me more and more empty cups to strew near me to indicate I was progressively becoming drunker. Now, I've never been drunk in my life, nor do I ever intend to, but living in Hermosa Beach years back taught me all I needed to know to create this drunk character. Thanks, drunk people of Hermosa Beach!

My proudest acting role - Drunk Girl #1

I'm looking forward to new roles and continuing to grow and learn as an actress. I plan to attend the 33rd Annual Israel Film Festival happening November 12 - 26, 2019 if I'm not working and maybe I'll see you there. I recently attended the Beverly Hills Chamber Mixer launching the festival and had the pleasure of meeting Actor/Director, Mike Burstyn.


Join us at the festival! Tickets are available here. Until next time...



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Getting back to one of my passions...Acting

By Joy A. Kennelly This past year was one of moving, caregiving, and focusing on other priorities. When I looked at my goal book from last year, I realized one of my goals had come to fruition this ye

bottom of page