top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoy A. Kennelly

Welcome to my latest adventure

Updated: Aug 4, 2019


Ever since breaking free from the Tech Startup scene because only 4% of female founders are ever funded, I've been trying to decide what to do next.


Go back to my PR & Digital Marketing business? Pursue more copy writing opportunities? Take on a full-time job? Or explore something that I've always enjoyed doing, but was too busy to do before while repping clients and that people said I should do?


I've been pursuing all of the above and the only thing that seems to be sticking and growing is acting believe it or not. Decided to throw my hat in the acting ring more fully because it's so much fun and I meet such creative, interesting people doing amazing things.


I look to a lot of actresses for inspiration.

I admire Allison Janney because she was 40 years old before pursuing an acting career and has done well for a woman who was once told she was too tall. You may recognize her from MOM, but I loved her in Juno first, because as a birthmother that film touched my heart for portraying adoption so lovingly and accurately.


A fun side note, Juno's Director Jason Reitman's student short film, In God We Trust, played in my short film festival, Short Pictures International Film Festival aka SPIFF, back in the day. I try to see everything he does because it's always so authentic, funny and entertaining.

Here's the short in case you're curious...

Did you see Actress Wendy Braun, who ironically I met recently while taking her Actor Inspiration seminar? She play's the welcome woman.:)

Although running my short film festival for five years burned me out from enjoying them now, I do recommend actors participate because some of the talented people I showcased have gone on to do much bigger films, like Tariq Jalil.


Maybe you recognize this show? He's done a lot of other major films and I'm so proud of him and his accomplishments. So many of my short film directors went on to have their films screen at Cannes Film Festival and HBO and WMA agents often scouted them. It was a fun five-year run, but the irony of this realm is that all the guys I did short film festival producing with went on to VP of Creative Development roles, whereas I had a baby I placed in an open adoption and dropped out of the film scene.


But that's another story for another day.


I also admire Rebel Wilson because she has proven over and over again you don't have to be a stick figure to make it because it's more about the person's talent. She's hilarious and extremely smart and is now producing her own films like Isn't It Romantic (hysterical!) and

the newest one, The Hustle, which is the female version of Dirty, Rotten Scoundrels. She's my latest role model for how I want my career to go, among so many other strong females forging new pathways in entertainment.


For Rebel's hilarious interview on the Graham Norton Show (one of my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE TALK SHOWS!), watch below:

Is she badass or what? And she does it all with a smile on her face. Love her!


I also admire Amy Poehler and her team because she's using her celebrity platform to help young girls realize their true authenticity as human beings through her Smart Girls organization.


Here's the About blurb from the site:

"Smart Girls organization is dedicated to helping young people cultivate their authentic selves. We emphasize intelligence and imagination over 'fitting in.' We celebrate curiosity over gossip. We are a place where people can truly be their weird and wonderful selves. We are funny first, and informative second, hosting the party you want to attend."


Can't wait to see Wine Country too! Starring: Amy Poehler, Maya Erskine, Maya Rudolph Directed By: Amy Poehler Synopsis: When a group of longtime girlfriends goes to Napa for the weekend to celebrate their friend's 50th birthday, tensions from the past boil over.

And I leave you with this quote from her Fueled by Failure Summit:

“What will you regret more; trying and failing or always wondering what if?” — Dr. Knatokie Ford

So I'm going for it! Wish me well!:)

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page